Cúirt is delighted to announce the winners of the 2018 Cúirt New Writing Prize

Congratulations to Eoin Hegarty and Eimear O’Callaghan, winners of the 2018 Cúírt New Writing Prize in the poetry and short story categories respectively. The winner in the youth strand is Hannah Riordan.

Sponsored by Tigh Neachtain and in memory of Lena McGuire, the New Writing Prize is a poetry and short story competition which encourages entries from writers all over the world. Poetry submissions are required to consist of three poems under 50 lines each and short story entries are limited to 2,000 words.

The judges for 2018 were Lisa Coen, co-founder of Tramp Press, who judged the short stories category and poet Jane Clarke who judged the poetry category. The competition also has a youth strand for ages 12 to 17.


The winners in the poetry and short story categories each receive a €500 cash prize and the opportunity to read at the Cúirt/Over the Edge New Writing Showcase as part of Cúirt on Wednesday April 25. Full details here.

The winner of the youth strand receives a €100 cash prize and the chance to read at the Cúirt Labs.

Congratulations also to the following who made the shortlist:

Poetry Shortlist

Laura Caffrey
Michael Dooley
Conor Doonan
Frank Farrelly
Lorraine McArdle
Audrey Molloy
Jessamine O’Connor

Short Story Shortlist

Jorge Leiva Ardana
Paul Bond
Greg MacDonald
Lauren Mackenzie
Niall McArdle
Valerie O’Riordan
Graham Rushe

Read Next